Seagull you fly………………….

Cape Point is home to at least 250 species of birds, some of them are more readily recognisable, and others require someone who knows a little bit about birds. You know the types that can tell by listening to a little sound and blurt out “red breasted white spotted tailed warbler” :-),   I know that may not even be a real example, but its just to demonstrate what I’m talking about. I must confess I know a little about many things, but I know very little about birds and trees. So I suppose this is like a forewarning that you must be a little circumspect about any facts that I may quote you in either of these categories. I dont know if everybody is like that, we have aptitude for certain things, and are just plain ignorant with others, either way I’ve just come clean about two things I’m pretty unclued up about :-). There’s probably a whole lot of people out there going, they know a little about everything, including birds and trees, and I’m sure everybody has met their fair share of people who know everything about everything!! But, I suppose it takes all kinds to make a wonderful world 🙂

The rocky habitats and beaches of Cape Point are obviously home to coastal birds, (see, I knew that :-), the ones that come to mind right now are the seagulls, the comorans, and the oyster catchers. But one thing is common amongst all of them, in this environment, they just appear to be so free, and content. Not that they’re not any of those in another environment, it’s just that it fits so much better in this environment. They seem to have an abundance of food, fish, crabs, mussels, etc, amazing landscape to fly over, no pollution, no humans trying to keep them out, high cliffs and rocks to perch on and observe the surrounds, not to mention freedom to practice “poo” grafitti on :-). All in all a sense of contentment is what seems to be evident to me.

Somehow, whenever I’m in the area and observe the birds I’m constantly reminded of the song by Bad Company, “Seagull you fly” ..some of you  will remember it, for those that dont recognise it, the lyrics that seem to ring in my head whenever I see these birds just flying around with wild abandon are… (all and any credits to the songwriter and Bad Company) …hmmm…not sure I can type the tune though 🙂 so I’ve attached a link to a live version on You tube…..check it out.

 Seagull, you fly across the horizon
Into the misty morning sun.
Nobody asks you where you are going,
Nobody knows where you’re from.

Here is a man asking the question
Is this really the end of the world?
Seagull, you must have known for a long time
The shape of things to come.
Now you fly, through the sky, never asking why,

Which brings me to todays images, birds in flight, or on the rocks or otherwise, completely content……perhaps theres a few lessons in there for us….the journey continues……………..

Leave a Reply

