Fynbos – within one of the World’s six floral kingdoms

The golden hour I was talking about in yesterday’s blog, provides wonderful opportunities for Photography, the colour range is incredible, and is constantly changing, literally before your eyes. As the sun emerges from the horizon and makes its appearance so it starts to dilute the rich colours in the sky, and before long that magnificent light is gone, as daylight takes over.

Such was the case following my little excursion to photograph the sunrise, that I talked about in my post of yesterday. The beautiful light had slowly emerged from behind the horizon, made a quiet appearance, and gently slipped behind more dense cloud cover as the sun continued rising. So, in this case the golden hour just happened to shorten its normally short stay even further. I gathered my equipment, folded the tripod and started heading back to my chalet. I did say there were some things that were outside ones control, weather, happens to be one of those. As I traced my way back over the route that I earlier followed by torchlight, I noticed a pond of sea water, obviously from the high tide overnight, stranded on the land side of the dune. Normally, in early morning light, a reflective pool like this would also present some good photo opportunities, but somehow the cloud cover just appeared to be too dense. So the walk back to the chalet continued.

As I approached the chalet from the distance I noticed how carefully, the chalets had been positioned among the fynbos. Fynbos? I can here some say, well,  it is the major vegetation type of the Cape Floral Kingdom, containing over 7700 plant species, and is unique to the South African Cape region. One of six Floral Kingdoms, it is the one that covers the smallest area and is the richest in all the floral kingdoms, with the highest known concentration of plant species, some 1 300 per 10 000 sqm. What can I say, if you read my post about South Africans and superlatives, this would be ringing a very loud bell right now :-):-) The nearest rival , which happens to be the South American rain forest pales in comparison with a mere 400 species per 10 000sqm. Fynbos is found covering mountains, valleys and coastal plains of South Africa’s Southern and South Western Cape. Strangely, it doesn’t occur anywhere else in the country!! The plants are small-leaved, extremely hard tough and leathery leaved. Additionally it contains Proteas, Ericas, and seven plant families found nowhere else in the world. South Africas national flower the King Protea comes from the same kingdom, as does the Red Disa, symbol of the Cape Province.

So, maybe the sun didnt stick around as long as I would have liked, but walking back, I had the opportunity to look onto and just ponder about the variety and richness of the Fynbos surrounding the chalet, truly another incredible sight.  The journey continues…………………..

Todays images were taken along the way back to and at the chalet….

 

2 thoughts on “Fynbos – within one of the World’s six floral kingdoms

  1. Beautiful pictures! The fynbos looks amazing in that light. My dad lives in Cape Town so I am fortunate enough to get to visit him and enjoy it. We are next visiting in February I think, I can’t wait! Until then I will be following!!

Leave a Reply

