Now you see it …..now you don’t……

I suppose those that read my “on the flip side” blog of yesterday will probably be able to relate to the context of this blog more easily. So if you find your self going .”what in heavens name is he talking about???” it might be a good idea to glance at yesterdays post too. So, I guess the anti climax of not being able to see the lunar eclipse after all the prepararation, hadn’t worn off. Well, what can I say? all that anticipation had to go somewhere, after all that is what perseverence is all about. Well, I’m just not someone who will just give up and walk away dejected. So, I figured, despite the fact that I’m very efficient at planning ahead and ensuring that all the ducks are in a row well in advance, I am probably even more efficient at being spontaneous!! Hah! the light bulb moment!! 🙂 Why not try and catch the sunrise this morning instead. Now, normally, with the day job, this wouldn’t be possible, but as it turned out, today happens to be Public Holiday here. Brought about by really tragic circumstances, with the Soweto uprising in 1976. A truly sad moment in our history. June 16 is Youth Day. Below is an extract from Wikipedia with more detail.

The Soweto Uprising also known as “June 16”, was a series of student-led protests in South Africa that began on the morning of June 16, 1976. Students from numerous Sowetan schools began to protest in the streets of Soweto, in response to the introduction of Afrikaans as the medium of instruction in local schools . An estimated 20 000 students took part in the protests, and roughly 176 people were killed. The 16th of June is now a public holiday, Youth Day, in South Africa, in remembrance of the events in 1976.

Considering it is winter here at the moment, sunrise is only at 07.45, so no necessity to wake up at an unreasonably early hour. No problem with equipment, everything had been prepared for last night, so literally I was ready to leave at the drop of a hat. The Alarm tweeted its gentle reminder at 06.30, and I was on the road to where I was expecting to shoot from, within 20 minutes. Plenty of time to set up before the sun made an appearance. The sky was a bit cloudy, but hey! nothing to unsettle a determined soul :-). Oops! spoke to soon did I. Shortly before I got to the place the weather decided to assert its authority once again!! The heavens opened up and it rained cats, dogs, monkeys and rats :-). But, I figured it must be a passing shower, which would dissipate soon. No such luck. Undeterred, I kept looking up at the sky longingly, while still heading in the direction of my destination. And in another Abracadabra moment I caught a glimpse of it. What? I can imagine you’re thinking!! Well, believe it or not, it was the moon, yes, the evasive one from last night, busy revealing itself while setting in the west. Did you guess that??  Well, I did tell you I was spontaneous, so the route was changed on the fly, as the target had just been revised. No sunrise visible, why not just go and shoot the moonset instead. No problem.  That brings us to the topic of todays blog “Now you see it…now you don’t“.

I headed in the direction of the setting moon, and found a vantage point shortly before it disappeared into low cloud cover. Finally managed to get some pictures of the moon, all the preparation was not in vain, and the perseverence paid off. Okkk!! twelve hours later, no eclipse, not rising but setting, heyy!! come on, cut me some slack :-), thats a technicality, if you forget about the eclipse, look at it this way, “what goes up, must come down”…its the primary law of gravity……..the  journey continues……………..

So here’s a one time exclusive view of the moon, twelve hours after the lunar eclipse of June 2011. Remember the next time you wiill be able to see this view 12 hours after a lunar eclipe will be in 2018 :-)-:)

Canon 7d, Canon 18-200mm lens f3.5/5.6, ISO 100, F5.6, 1/80 sec,FL=200mm


Canon 7d, Canon 18-200mm lens f3.5/5.6, ISO 100, F4.5, 1/60 sec, FL=35mm


Canon 7d, Canon 18-200mm lens f3.5/5.6, ISO 100, F7.1, 1/60 sec,FL=40mm


Canon 7d, Canon 18-200mm lens f3.5/5.6, ISO 100, F5.6, 1/80 sec,FL=200mm

2 thoughts on “Now you see it …..now you don’t……

  1. cool shots! do you have any tips for taking moon pictures without producing the glowing orb look? I was up late last night and saw the moon coming over the trees and tried to capture it. I even put my camera on a tripod and used the remote shutter :/

    • Hi! Thank you, glad you enjoyed the shots.
      Generally with Moon pictures, what works for me, is shooting from a tripod or supported on a ledge or something. I shoot Aperture priority with an F stop somewhere between f11 and f16. I use centre weighted metering, and try and meter close to the moon, but not necessarily onto it, and sometimes dial exposure up or down depending on the prevailing light. If necessary I reduce the exposure of the moon locally with a brush in camera raw. I’ve also previously tried bracketing by 1 f stop up and down, which also works well.
      Hope that helps.
      I notice your blog is also hosted on wordpress.com, any ideas about how to add a followers widget in the sidebar? I’ve read that this is not possible on sites hosted by wordpress.com.
      Kind regards
      Mo

Leave a Reply

